Lewis Hamilton at the Red Bull Ring, Spielberg, Austria




Austrian Grand Prix


The Austrian Grand Prix was first run in 1963 at the Zeltweg Airfield circuit. The following year marked the first championship F1 event at the venue.

But the circuit was considered to be bland, bumpy, and dangerous. The event was discontinued until a new circuit, Österreichring was constructed in 1969. This circuit hosted the Austrian GP from 1970 to 1987, at which point it was also deemed to be too dangerous.

In 1996 the track was significantly redesigned by Hermann Tilke and renamed the A1 ring, where the Austrian GP was held from 1997 to 2003. In 2013 the circuit was bought by Red Bull, renamed the Red Bull Ring, and has held the Austrian GP from 2014 to the present.

Austrian GP Details
LocationRed Bull Ring, Spielberg, Austria
Date29th June - 1st July 2018
Lap Length 2.683mi, 4.318km
Race Distance190.420mi, 306.452km
Race lap record1:06.957, Kimi Räikkönen, Ferrari, 2018
Routed track plan of the Red Bull Ring

Footprint :- 4.63 x 3.05m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Width :- 6cm

Lane Length :- 15.32m

Track :- Scratch build

Red Bull Ring

The circuit is situated in the Styrian mountains which certainly provide a spectacular scenic backdrop for the race.

Although the track is short, and has fewer fast corners than the fearsome Österreichring which preceded it, the Red Bull Ring still manages to squeeze in a good variety of elements, including a substantial 60m of elevation change, a long uphill straight, and a series of fast, sweeping, descending corners.


Alain Prost is the most succesful driver at the Austrian GP, with three wins, followed by Ronnie Peterson, Alan Jones, Mika Hakinnen, Michael Schumacher, and Nico Rosberg, who all have two wins.

McLaren are the most succesful team, with six wins, Ferrari have five, Lotus and Mercedes have four.

Of the current F1 drivers, only Bottas, Hamilton, and now Verstappen have won the Austrian GP.


The Austrian GP is not the best attended F1 event of the year, by any stretch. In fact attendance figures seem to suggest it's around the third worst attended race. In 2015 120,000 spectators turned up over the race weekend.

Past Winners
2018Max VerstappenRed Bull
2017Valtteri BottasMercedes
2016Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2015Nico RosbergMercedes
2014Nico RosbergMercedes
Scalextric track plan of the Red Bull Ring

Footprint :- 2.86 x 2.19m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Length :- 9.96m

Track :- Scalextric

C8204 R3 5
C8205 S 14
C8202 R1 13
C8200 1/4S 4
C8235 R4 3
C8206 R2 1
C8278 1/2 R1 2
C8207 1/2S 8
Ninco track plan of the Red Bull Ring

Footprint :- 3.53 x 2.51m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Length :- 11.95m

Track :- Ninco

10112 1/2 R2 4
10105 R2 1
10104 1/4 S 3
10113 1/2 R1 5
10103 1/2 S 7
10102 S 15
10115 R5 6
10108 R4 2
10107 R3 2
10106 R1 10