Kimi Raikonnen at Eau Rouge corner, Spa Francorchamps



Race 13

Belgian Grand Prix

Spa Francorchamps

The first Belgian Grand Prix was held in 1925 at the original Spa Francorchamps circuit, in the Ardennes region of Belgium.

The race was held on and off until 1950, when it became a regular part of the F1 calendar, missing only six years to the present day.

Spa Francorchamps has become the event's regular home since 1985, but Zolder was used many times in the 70s & 80s, and the race has also ben held a couple of times at Nivelles, and once at Bois de la Cambre.

Belgian GP Details
Location Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Francorchamps, Belgium
Date 24th-26th August 2018
Lap Length 4.352mi, 7.004km
Laps 44
Race Distance 191.415mi, 308.052km
Turns 19
Race lap record 1:46.286, Valtteri Bottas, Mercedes, 2018
Routed track plan of Spa Francorchamps circuit

Footprint :- 7.05 x 4.54m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Width :- 8cm

Lane Length :- 23.83m

Track :- Scratch build

Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps

The original layout of the track was designed in 1920, and was 15km long. Roughly triangular in shape, the course used public roads between the towns of Francorchamps, Malmedy, and Stavelot. In the 1930s and 40s several changes were made which reduced the length of the circuit to 14km, and also made it even faster. However the most radical change in layout came in 1979, when the track was reduced in length to 7km, by removing much of the wide, open run out to the towns of Malmedy, and Stavelot.

I would hazard a guess that Spa Francorchamps would win the prize for best F1 circuit, if we were to take a poll. It is one of the most dramatic tracks on the calendar, it is the longest, and has the greatest elevation change of over 100m.

The run from turn 1, La Source, through to turn 6, Les Combes probably says it all. A 2km long, flat out, roller coaster ride, sweeping down through the famous Eau Rouge, and back uphill onto the Kemmel straight, before hitting the tight complex of corners at Les Combes. The whole track is an undulating, sweeping series of turns that provide a huge challenge for any driver.


The most succesful driver at the Belgian GP is Michael Schumacher who has won the event six times. Ayrton Senna has five wins. Jim Clark and Kimi Raikkonen have four. Juan Manuel Fangio, Damon Hill, Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel all have three.

Ferrari have the most GP victories in Belgium, with 17. McLaren have 14, Lotus have 8. Mercedes have six wins, but two of those were not F1 races.

Amongst our current F1 drivers, Raikkonen is the most successful with four wins, Hamilton and Vettel each have three.


It is no surprise that the Belgian GP is a popular event, with record attendaces last year of 265,000, perhaps boosted by local interest in Vandoorne, and Verstappen.

Past Winners
2018 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
2017 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2016 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2015 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2014 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull
2013 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2012 Jenson Button McLaren
2011 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2010 Lewis Hamilton McLaren
2009 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
2008 Felipe Massa Ferrari
2007 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
2005 Kimi Raikkonen McLaren
2004 Kimi Raikkonen McLaren
Scalextric track plan of Spa Francorchamps circuit

Footprint :- 5.32 x 3.24m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Length :- 17.16m

Track :- Scalextric

C8204 R3 9
C8205 S 20
C8202 R1 17
C8200 1/4S 2
C8235 R4 11
C8234 1/2 R2 2
C8206 R2 9
C8207 1/2S 9
C8278 1/2 R1 2
Ninco track plan of Spa Francorchamps circuit

Footprint :- 7.04 x 4.57m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Length :- 24.07m

Track :- Ninco

10112 1/2 R2 7
10105 R2 10
10113 1/2 R1 1
10104 1/4 S 1
10103 1/2 S 9
10102 S 27
10115 R5 20
10116 SS 1
10108 R4 5
10107 R3 7
10106 R1 13