Bottas leads Vettel at the Hungarian Grand Prix




Hungarian Grand Prix


The first Hungarian Grand Prix was held in 1936 at Nepliget, a park in Budapest.

But it would be fifty years before the running of the second GP in 1986, when it became the first F1 race to be held behind the "iron curtain".

Since then the event has been ever present on the F1 calendar, at it's permanent home, Hungaroring, in Mogyorod, near Budapest.

Hungarian GP Details
Location Hungaroring, Mogyorod, Hungary
Date 27th-29th July 2018
Lap Length 2.722mi, 4.381km
Laps 70
Race Distance 190.53mi, 306.63km
Turns 14
Race lap record 1:19.071, Michael Schumacher, Ferrari, 2004
Routed track plan of the Hungaroring

Footprint :- 4.93 x 4.73m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Width :- 6cm

Lane Length :- 21.67m

Track :- Scratch build


The circuit itself is short, narrow, tight and twisty, leading to comparisons with Monaco, with races often suffering from similar difficulties in overtaking.

The layout has remained largely unchanged, with only minor revisions including the lengthening of the pit straight, and minor alterations to turns 1,3, and 12.


Lewis Hamilton has the most Hungarian Grand Prix wins with six. Michael Schumacher has four, and Ayrton Senna has three.

The most successful team in Hungary is McLaren with 11 wins. Williams and Ferrari both have 7 wins, Mercedes have 3, and Red Bull have 2.

Amongst current F1 drivers, Hamilton now has six wins, Vettel has 2, and Alonso and Raikkonen have one each.


Bearing in mind that this is not one of F1's headline events, the Hungarian GP is still reasonably well attended, and the Hungaroring will usually approach it's capacity of 70,000 on race day. Over the course of the event crowds approaching 190,000 are often achieved.

According to the national tourism office of Hungary, Mogyorod ranks third among Hungarian destinations visited by tourists.

Past Winners
2018 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2017 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
2016 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2015 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
2014 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull
2013 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2012 Lewis Hamilton McLaren
2011 Jenson Button McLaren
2010 Mark Webber Red Bull
2009 Lewis Hamilton McLaren
2008 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren
2007 Lewis Hamilton McLaren
2006 Jenson Button Honda
2005 Kimi Raikkonen McLaren
2004 Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2003 Fernando Alonso Renault
Scalextric track plan of the Hungaroring

Footprint :- 4.05 x 3.64m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Length :- 17.54m

Track :- Scalextric

C8204 R3 4
C8205 S 24
C8202 R1 13
C8200 1/4S 3
C8235 R4 8
C8234 1/2 R2 2
C8206 R2 15
C8207 1/2S 7
Ninco track plan of the Hungaroring

Footprint :- 4.99 x 4.68m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Length :- 22.19m

Track :- Ninco

10112 1/2 R2 2
10105 R2 16
10104 1/4 S 3
10113 1/2 R1 1
10103 1/2 S 7
10102 S 30
10115 R5 8
10116 SS 1
10108 R4 2
10107 R3 3
10106 R1 12