Sebastian Vettel's Ferrari turns into the corner at Sakhir




Bahrain Grand Prix


The Bahrain Grand Prix may have been a fairly recent addition to the F1 calendar, but it made history in 2004, when it became the first F1 race to be held in the middle east.

Unfortunately it also made history again in 2011 when the race was cancelled because of civil unrest, and it was somewhat controversial that the race went ahead at all in 2012, with conerns expressed about the human rights record of Bahrain's authorities.

Bahrain GP Details
Location Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir, Bahrain
Date 6th-8th April 2018
Lap Length 3.363mi, 5.412km
Laps 57
Race Distance 191.691mi, 308.238km
Turns 15
Lap record 1:31.447 Pedro de la Rosa, McLaren, 2005
Routed track plan of Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir

Footprint :- 7.13 x 4.66m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Width :- 8cm

Lane Length :- 30.74m

Track :- Scratch build

Bahrain International Circuit

The circuit, designed by Hermann Tilke, has several noteworthy features. The run off areas are huge, and the sand around the perimeter is sprayed with adhesive to stop it from blowing onto the track. The surface of the track is made from aggregate imported from Shropshire which has good grip levels and is also used at Yas Marina.

Unusually, most of the circuit is below sea level, with the high point of the track being less than a metre above it.

The track layout is distinctive, and varied without actually being in any way inspiring. The long straights look like they were drawn with a ruler, and all of them end in tight corners (the current recipe for creating overtaking opportunities). In between is a bit of a pick and mix, a bit of this and a bit of that. Having said that, those parts of the the layout, the infield, are probably the most intersting. But it still has the feel of a drawing board exercise, plonked down into a flat landscape.


With only a short history to speak of, the list of past winners is fairly short, so I can post the complete list here.

Ferrari have the best team record in Bahrain, with six wins. Mercedes have three, and Red Bull have two, as do Renault.

Sebastian Vettel is the most succesful driver in Bahrain with four wins. Fernando Alonso has three.

Unusually, perhaps even uniquely, the lap record at the Bahrain International Circuit is held by Pedro de la Rosa!


Bahrain is often the least well attended Grand Prix, with just 32,000 fans turning up to watch the 2015 race.

Past Winners
2017 Sebastian VettelFerrari
2016 Nico RosbergMercedes
2015 Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2014 Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2013 Sebastian VettelRed Bull
2012 Sebastian VettelRed Bull
2010 Fernando AlonsoFerrari
2009 Jenson ButtonBrawn
2008 Felipe MassaFerrari
2007 Felipe MassaFerrari
2006 Fernando AlonsoRenault
2005 Fernando AlonsoRenault
2004  Michael Schumacher Ferrari
Scalextric track plan of Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir

Footprint :- 3.15 x 2.54m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Length :- 14.46m

Track :- Scalextric

C8204 R3 3
C8205 S 24
C8202 R1 15
C8200 1/4S 1
C8236 SS 2
C8235 R4 2
C8234 1/2 R2 1
C8206 R2 10
C8207 1/2S 4
C8278 1/2 R1 2
Ninco track plan of Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir

Footprint :- 3.50 x 2.26m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Length :- 14.92m

Track :- Ninco

10105 R2 6
10112 1/2 R2 3
10113 1/2 R1 2
10104 1/4 S 5
10103 1/2 S 6
10102 S 17
10115 R5 4
10116 SS 1
10108 R4 2
10107 R3 4
10106 R1 19

Carrera track plan of Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir

Footprint :- 4.68 x 3.19m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Length :- 20.28m

Track :- Carrera

20577 R1/30 6
20571 R1/60 14
20573 R3/30 3
20572 R2/30 3
20509 S 29
20578 R4/15 10
20611 1/3S 5
20612 1/4S 2