Valtteri Bottas taking a right hander at Barcelona




Spanish Grand Prix


The Spanish Grand Prix is one of the oldest in the world, dating back to 1913, albeit with several breaks for various reasons. It has been run on many circuits, including Lasarte, Pedralbes, Jarama, Montjuic, Jerez, and Catalunya, which has been the venue since 1991.

The event was the final round of F1's second season in 1951, where Juan Manuel Fangio claimed his first driver's title, driving for Alfa Romeo. The Spanish GP was a regular event in the F1 calendar from 1968 to 1979, and has been a part of every F1 season since 1986.

Spanish GP Details
LocationCircuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain
Date11th-13th May 2018
Lap Length 2.892mi, 4.655km
Race Distance190.825mi, 307.104km
Race Lap Record1:21.670,  Kimi Räikkönen, Ferrari, 2008
Routed track plan of Catalunya Circuit

Footprint :- 9.83 x 3.05m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Width :- 8cm

Lane Length :- 32.37m

Track :- Scratch build

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

With long straights and a wide variety of corners, Catalunya is seen as an all round test of an F1 car's abilities, and for this reason is regularly used for pre season testing.

In terms of the layout, it certainly provides variety, from the wide, sweeping turn 3, to the changing radii of 4,5, and 6, and the tight hairpin at turn 10.

The layout was altered in 2007, replacing a sweeping corner at turn 13 with a tight chicane, created by adding turns 14, and 15. This was an attempt to adapt to the greater aerodynamic turbulence of modern F1 cars, create better overtaking opportunities, and lower speeds at the entrance to the pit lane.


In the F1 era, Michael Schumacher has the most Spanish GP wins with seven, including four in succession from 2001-2004. Jackie Stewart, Nigel Mansell, Alain Prost, and Mika Hakinnen all have three wins.

Of the current drivers, Kimi Raikonnen, Fernando Alonso, and Lewis Hamilton all have two victories each.

Ferrari have been the most successful team in Spain with 12 wins, followed by McLaren with eight.

Last year's winner was Lewis Hamilton, but it was the year before that may be better remembered. In 2016, both Mercedes drivers had crashed out by turn four of the race, as Hamilton and Rosberg tussled for the lead, with disastrous consequences.

Max Verstappen went on to win on his debut for Red Bull, and in the process broke several records, including the youngest GP winner, and the first Dutchman to win an F1 Grand Prix.


The Spanish Grand Prix has been reasonably well attended in recent years, with around 90,000 spectators on race day, thanks in part to Fernando Alonso..

Past Winners
2017 Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2016 Max VerstappenRed Bull
2015 Nico RosbergMercedes
2014 Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2013 Fernando AlonsoFerrari
2012 Pastor MaldonadoWilliams
2011 Sebastian VettelRed Bull
2010 Mark WebberRed Bull
2009 Jenson ButtonBrawn
2008 Kimi RäikkönenFerrari
2007 Felipe MassaFerrari
2006 Fernando AlonsoRenault
Scalextric track plan of Catalunya Circuit

Footprint :- 3.69 x 1.18m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Length :- 11.12m

Track :- Scalextric

C8204 R3 1
C8205 S 10
C8202 R1 20
C8200 1/4S 6
C8236 SS 3
C8235 R4 2
C8234 1/2 R2 3
C8206 R2 8
C8207 1/2S 9
C8278 1/2 R1 6
Ninco track plan of Catalunya Circuit

Footprint :- 4.44 x 1.45m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Length :- 14.16m

Track :- Ninco

10105 R2 8
10113 1/2 R1 3
10104 1/4 S 5
10103 1/2 S 4
10102 S 15
10115 R5 6
10108 R4 2
10107 R3 2
10106 R1 22