Daniel Ricciardo's Red Bull at Shanghai International Circuit




Chinese Grand Prix


After a failed attempt by the Chinese government to make the purpose built Zhuhai International Circuit an accepted F1 track in 1999, China finally succeeded in getting it's own Grand Prix in 2004, at the Shanghai International Circuit.

When it was completed, the Shanghai circuit was the most expensive F1 facility ever built, only surpassed by Abu Dhabi five years later.

Chinese GP Details
Location Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai, China
Date 13th-15th April 2018
Lap Length 3.387mi, 5.412km
Laps 56
Race Distance 189.559mi, 305.066km
Turns 13
Race lap record 1:35.37 Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
Routed track plan of Shanghai International Circuit

Footprint :- 6.49 x 4.36m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Width :- 8cm

Lane Length :- 25.52m

Track :- Scratch build

Shanghai International Circuit

Designed by Hermann Tilke, the track layout is distinctive, and turns one through to four are quite interesting, and by all accounts quite challenging.

But like Bahrain, the straights are ruler straight, the track is flat, and the end result is a circuit that seems uninspiring, in spite of the impressive main grandstand, and the distinctive bridges over the main pit straight

I know that just like Sakhir, I'm being very fussy here, particularly bearing in mind that both are very impressive facilities. But for me, the best race tracks are born of a place, and created almost organically from the landscape. Perhaps having Sakhir, and Shanghai next to each other on the F1 calendar emphasises the similarities. Two flat "Tilkedromes", both inaugurated in 2004, and both sharing certain characteristics, both good and bad.


The comparisons with Sakhir continue here, since Shanghai joined the F1 calendar in the same year. So again, the history is short enough for us to list every winner.

Lewis Hamilton has the best record in Shanghai, with five victories, and also holds the lap record. Fernando Alonso, and Nico Rosberg have two wins each.

Mercedes are the most succesful constructor with five wins, Ferrari have four, and McLaren three.

There is one note in the history of F1 which will always belong to Shanghai. It was the venue of the 91st, and final victory for the most succesful F1 driver of all time, Michael Schumacher.


The Chinese Grand Prix is surprisingly well attended, with 125,000 fans turning up on race day 2015. Practise and qualifying don't seem to have the same interest for the Chinese though, with only 20,000 attending.

Past Winners
2017  Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2016  Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2015  Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2014  Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2013  Fernando Alonso Ferrari
2012  Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2011  Lewis Hamilton McLaren
2010  Jenson Button McLaren
2009  Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2008  Lewis Hamilton McLaren
2007  Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari
2006  Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2005  Fernando Alonso Renault
2004  Rubens Barrichello Ferrari
Scalextric track plan of Shanghai International Circuit

Footprint :- 3.91 x 2.59m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Length :- 15.35m

Track :- Scalextric

C8205 S 20
C8202 R1 21
C8200 1/4S 4
C8236 SS 2
C8235 R4 7
C8234 1/2 R2 4
C8206 R2 11
C8278 1/2 R1 5
C8207 1/2S 4
Ninco track plan of Shanghai International Circuit

Footprint :- 5.05 x 3.29m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Length :- 19.32m

Track :- Ninco

10112 1/2 R2 3
10105 R2 9
10104 1/4 S 6
10113 1/2 R1 6
10103 1/2 S 7
10102 S 23
10115 R5 4
10108 R4 6
10107 R3 1
10106 R1 21