Hamilton leads Verstappen and Vettel into the first corner




Singapore Grand Prix


The Singapore Grand Prix has an unusual early history. Non championship Formula Libre races were held at the Thompson Road Circuit from 1962 to 1973, but races before Singapore's independence in 1966 are now regarded as Malaysian GPs.

So, the history of the Singapore GP officially starts in 1966. Eight races were held, before a long lay off.

In 2008 the event returned, this time as part of the F1 calendar, using a new street circuit at Marina Bay. The event was the first F1 night race, the first F1 visit to a street circuit in Asia, and has become notorious because of Renault's instructions to Nelson Piquet Jr. to deliberately crash his car. Nonetheless, the event has been a regular part of F1 ever since.

Singapore GP Details
LocationMarina Bay, Singapore
Date14th-16th September 2018
Lap Length 3.146mi, 5.063km
Race Distance 191.821mi, 308.706km
Race lap record1:41.905, Kevin Magnussen, Haas-Ferrari, 2018
Routed track plan of Marina Bay circuit

Footprint :- 7.04 x 4.09m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Width :- 8cm

Lane Length :- 23.32m

Track :- Scratch build

Marina Bay

Like many street circuits, Marina Bay is full of tight, right angled corners, with extremely limited run off areas.

It is the slowest F1 track, but with 23 corners, a bumpy track surface, and high temperatures and humidity, it is considered to be one of the most physically challenging.

The circuit is also one of the most dramatic, picked out by the floodlights, framed by the backdrop of the skyscrapers, and criss crossed by motorway flyovers.


Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton share the honours for the most wins in Singapore with four apiece. Fernando Alonso has two, and Nico Rosberg is the only driver other to win in the F1 era.

Mercedes are the most succesful F1 team at the Singapore GP, with four wins, followed by Red Bull who have three. Ferrari have two F1 wins, and McLaren one.


The Singapore GP is very popular. Attendances of around 250,000 put the event in amongst the top five F1 events of the year for crowd numbers.

Past Winners
2018 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2017 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2016 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2015 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
2014 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2013 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2012 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2011 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2010 Fernando Alonso Ferrari
2009 Lewis Hamilton McLaren
2008 Fernando Alonso Renault
Scalextric track plan of Marina Bay circuit

Footprint :- 5.03 x 2.88m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Length :- 16.37m

Track :- Scalextric

C8204 R3 4
C8205 S 19
C8202 R1 28
C8200 1/4S 4
C8235 R4 8
C8206 R2 9
C8278 1/2 R1 6
C8207 1/2S 8
Ninco track plan of Marina Bay circuit

Footprint :- 5.17 x 3.31m

Lanes :- 2

Lane Length :- 17.28m

Track :- Ninco

10105 R2 4
10112 1/2 R2 3
10113 4
10104 1/4 S 10
10103 1/2 S 8
10102 S 16
10115 R5 8
10108 R4 3
10107 R3 3
10106 R1 32