Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

The beginning of a track. 1:32 scale

Hi. I am planning to build me a scenic track. 
More like a rally track than a raceway. And I want to decorate it. Like I want the pit lane to go to a fuelstation or so, instead of a pitbox. 

I have about 4 x 1.8m but i will not be able to reach over all so I am thinking an L shape with 4 meter x 1.3 and the _ of the L will be 1.8m. 

There is a lot of talk about flow. I dont know what the "flow" is or how you define it. 

I am mostly alone driving and I have a scalextric digital set with the 6 port powerbase and USB contact to plug into a pc. I have not tried the USB part yet. But I am a fan of the cross tracks and pit lane. 

I have drawn a lot of tracks on paper. But I dont have any experience in building tracks. 

Anyone who want to take part in this procces? 

Regards
Jan-Eirik
[+] 3 members Like Skogis's post

Happy to help! I have some experience building and tweaking tracks with the 6-car Advanced Powerbase (C7042). You said you mostly race alone - will you be using pace cars? Or will you be time-trialing against the clock?

I think to most people "flow" means a lap that is not just the same 'stop-and-start' at each corner. The aim for 'flow' is using various radius turns and different geometries to make each section of the lap different and interesting - and for each section to 'flow' into the next. That's what it means to me. And you only really know a track works when you build it and drive it - then you tweak it to make it better.

I am currently designing, building, testing and tweaking a very simple L shape Scalextric digital track to go round the walls of my office. I have very limited space, but aim for the four corners to each have a different 'feel'. There are a few Radius 1 pieces there (space is very tight), plus some Radius 2s (including a curved lane changer), six Radius 3s and two Radius 4 pieces. You have more space, so can be more creative!