Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Scorpius wireless controller

Although wireless controllers are becoming more mainstream on digital set ups they are not widely available for analogue. One exception is the Scorpius controller which was developed for use on that manufacturers' digital system but, with the addition of an extra accessory, is eminently suitable for analogue use as well. I have had one for a couple of years now so I thought I would share my experience of it. I have no knowledge of its digital capabilities so cannot comment on that aspect.

It is not a cheap option, about £150 at current exchange rates plus postage from Australia (no European distributor at the moment).

Do you actually need one?  
If you have a small home track in a fairly confined space then probably not as wired controllers are not really a handicap in that situation.
If you have a large home track with sight line restrictions or race at a club where other competitors can hamper your view from the podium then it is a much more viable proposition. The freedom to run your car from any position around the track can be most useful.

What do you get?
A Scorpius digital controller:    
and a WAM (wireless analogue module):    
The WAM is plugged into your normal driver position and communicates at 2.4 GHz wireless frequency with the controller leaving you free to wander about the track. It does not rely on line of sight so you can drive your car from the back garden if you really want to!

Set up
The controller itself is battery operated and needs a couple of decent AAA ones fitted (Duracell or similar). Poundland cheapies won't do! They are a bit fiddly to replace as you need to dismantle the controller but battery life is generally good and the controller will switch itself off after about 30 seconds inactivity to preserve them.